Altman Z″
Needs current assets and current liabilities.
CENTURYOOH · Not specified · INE16VF01010
Analyst mean 0.00 · 0 analysts · 0% bullishThis company listed within the last twelve months, so its prospectus is still the primary source. The figures below were extracted from the DRHP and RHP before listing and scored then, and they are shown here as they stand in the IPO record rather than restated.
Each flag is a fact read in the filing, shown with the context that makes it meaningful.
Stated objects, as worded in the offer document. Deployment against them is tracked separately.
Claims made in the offer document, to be read against what the company has reported since.
Established in 1999, Century Business Media Limited is engaged in providing Out-of-Home (OOH) advertising services across airport, railway, metro, and city-based media formats in eastern and north-eastern India. The company operates advertising rights across high-footfall locations, including airports (such as Patna, Ranchi, Darbhanga, Deoghar), railway stations under East Central Railway and other zones, and metro platforms. It operates a store-cum-workshop facility in Patna, Bihar, for inventory storage, media asset preparation, and equipment assembly. In FY26, Airport OOH advertising accounted for 61.52% of revenue, Railway OOH for 24.82%, City OOH/flex for 11.01%, and Metro OOH for 2.52%. The company sells services directly to corporate, government, and non-government clients and also undertakes media trading and installation. Operations are geographically concentrated, with Bihar (35.56%), Jharkhand (21.19%), Delhi (15.43%), and West Bengal (9.16%) generating the bulk of FY26 revenue.
Sole advertising rights across strategic airport and railway media assets in East India, long-standing relationships with government authorities and corporate clients, and integrated execution capabilities through an in-house workshop facility.
Century Business Media Limited provides advertising services with a primary focus on Out-of-Home (OOH) media formats, including Airport OOH, Railway OOH, Metro OOH, and city-based digital and non-digital advertising solutions.
Source: p.23, 105, 106, 107
The comparable set the company chose, which is itself a disclosure.
| Name | Margin | Pb | Pe | Roe | Listed on | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bright Outdoor Media Limited | 29.48 | 12.96 | sme | p.86, 87 | ||
| Simca Advertising Limited | 12.75 | 80.18 | sme | p.86, 88 | ||
| Signpost India Limited | 27.3 | mainboard | p.88 |
As presented in the offer document. Post-listing figures are in the statements above.
| Basis | Period | Related party revenue cr | Pat cr | Pat margin | Revenue cr | Pat margin derived | Cff cr |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| standalone | FY26 | 0.7768 | 5.5556 | 11.96% | 46.4334 | yes | 1.618 |
| consolidated | FY25 | 1.0717 | 4.708 | 12.84% | 36.6529 | yes | -3.2528 |
| consolidated | FY24 | 1.526 | 3.6879 | 11.51% | 32.0339 | yes | 1.6543 |
Written before listing, answered from the document itself.
How are the fresh issue proceeds allocated across capex, security deposits, debt repayment, and working capital?
Fresh issue proceeds are allocated as: Rs. 4.2127 crore for purchase of media assets, Rs. 3.7659 crore for security deposit towards Patna Airport advertising rights, Rs. 1.4500 crore for repayment of borrowings, Rs. 3.2500 crore for working capital requirements, and the balance for General Corporate Purposes.
p.76
What is the promoters' shareholding pre and post-issue, and what is their acquisition cost history?
Promoters Shashi Kumar Chaudhary, Seema Chaudhary, Sangita Dokania, and Shreya Chaudhary hold 94.93% pre-issue shareholding, diluting to 69.88% post-issue. A 10:1 bonus issue of 5,643,120 shares in March 2025 reduced the promoters' 3-year Weighted Average Cost of Acquisition (WACA) to Rs. 0.00 per share.
p.64, 65, 68, 89
What are the key related-party transactions and promoter group debt dependencies?
Unsecured loans from promoter family and group entities total Rs. 4.0646 crore (51.09% of total borrowings of Rs. 7.9557 crore). Purchases of services from group entities Century Ventures and Airport Advertising (Agartala) totaled Rs. 2.4174 crore in FY26. Managerial remuneration to promoter directors was Rs. 0.7500 crore in FY26. Promoters provided personal guarantees covering 100% of company debt.
p.49, 50, 170, 183, 184
How did operating cash flow perform relative to restated net profits over FY24 to FY26?
Restated PAT grew from Rs. 3.6879 crore in FY24 to Rs. 4.7080 crore in FY25 and Rs. 5.5556 crore in FY26. Operating cash flow (CFO) expanded from Rs. 0.1583 crore in FY24 to Rs. 5.4049 crore in FY25 and Rs. 6.0502 crore in FY26, demonstrating 108.9% cash conversion of net profit in FY26.
p.45, 47, 159
What secretarial, statutory compliance, and litigation findings exist for the company?
The company operates with 58 employees. Disclosed secretarial findings include non-filing of Form CHG-1 for vehicle loans, missing Audit Reports/Cash Flow Statements in AOC-4 filings for FY15/FY16, and historical AS-15 Employee Benefits non-compliance. Litigations filed by the company total 15 cases (Rs. 9.7088 crore), including a writ petition against UOI Railways for Rs. 8.7491 crore. Statutory auditor M/s Lodha Patel Wadhwa & Co. has served for 3+ years.
p.20, 24, 29, 115, 165
What are the application lot terms, retail ticket requirements, market maker details, and exit constraints for public investors?
The issue is listed on BSE SME with a minimum retail application requirement of 2 lots. Trading occurs strictly in standardized market lots, and because lots are indivisible, partial exit or fractional lot trading is impossible. Hem Finlease Private Limited is the Market Maker with 116,800 reserved shares (5.05%) and a mandatory 3-year obligation period. Standard SME 5% price circuit limits apply.
p.1, 5, 7, 43, 59, 250
What the issue priced at, on the figures in the document.
Pe basis: Based on Basic & Diluted EPS of Rs. 8.61 for FY 2025-26 and Weighted Average EPS of Rs. 7.69
The company compares itself with listed peers Bright Outdoor Media Limited, Simca Advertising Limited, and Signpost India Limited engaged in similar lines of advertising media business.
Source: p.85, 86, 87
How the book filled. A category that bid far above the rest is a different signal from a uniformly covered issue.
| Date | Name | Shares | Price per share | Category | Issue type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1999-09-23 | Banwari Lal Chaudhary & Shashi Kumar Chaudhary | 20 | 10 | promoter | initial | p.63 |
| 1999-11-04 | Promoters & Initial Shareholders | 100000 | 10 | promoter | initial | p.63 |
| 2013-12-02 | Shashi Kumar Chaudhary & Others | 52700 | 10 | promoter | preferential | p.63, 64 |
| 2018-03-26 | Banwari Lal Chaudhary, Sangita Dokania & Others | 116000 | 50 | promoter | rights | p.63, 64 |
| 2018-11-05 | Existing Shareholders | 537440 | 0 | promoter group | bonus | p.63, 64 |
| 2025-03-23 | Existing Shareholders | 5643120 | 0 | promoter group | bonus | p.64, 65 |
Ceo: Shashi Kumar Chaudhary
Litigations filed by Company: 15 cases involving Rs. 9.7088 crore (including writ petition CWJC/13767/2024 against UOI Railways seeking Rs. 8.7491 crore). Litigations against Directors/Promoters: 5 criminal complaints involving Rs. 0.4500 crore (settled/compromised). Litigations against Group Companies: 10 cases involving tax matters of Rs. 0.6082 crore.
Auditor name: M/s Lodha Patel Wadhwa & Co., Chartered Accountants
Skin in game: Promoters hold 94.93% pre-issue shareholding (holding 6,122,120 out of 6,449,280 equity shares).
Auditor changed last 3y: No
Source: p.20, 21, 22, 68, 152, 208
Transactions with promoters, directors and their entities, as disclosed.
| Counterparty | Amount cr | Nature | Relationship | Core function | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shashi Kumar Chaudhary | 0.39 | remuneration | director | yes | p.49, 183 |
| Shashi Kumar Chaudhary | 0.06 | rent | director | no | p.49, 183 |
| Shashi Kumar Chaudhary | 0.072 | transport | director | no | p.49, 183 |
| Seema Chaudhary | 0.3 | remuneration | director | yes | p.49, 183 |
| Sangita Dokania | 0.06 | remuneration | director | yes | p.50, 184 |
| Sangita Dokania | 0.06 | rent | director | no | p.50, 184 |
| Century Ventures Private Limited | 1.0046 | purchase | group company | yes | p.50, 184 |
| Airport Advertising (Agartala) Private Limited | 1.4128 | purchase | group company | yes | p.50, 184 |
| Bigspace Media Private Limited | 0.7768 | sale | group company | yes | p.50, 184 |
Disclosed past secretarial and ROC non-compliances including clerical errors in e-forms, non-filing of Form CHG-1 for vehicle loans (repaid), non-attachment of Audit Report/Cash Flow Statement with AOC-4 in FY15 and FY16, and non-compliance with AS-15 Employee Benefits in earlier years (rectified in restated statements). Disclosed trade payables holding period miscalculations in DRHP (rectified in UDRHP).
Defaults disclosed: Yes
Source: p.24, 29, 165
Numbered markers are corporate actions and, once the filings are read, capital and governance events. Prices are split-adjusted so the series is continuous.
Every score below is calculated here from the reported numbers — none of it is asserted. Open the notebook at the foot of the section to see each formula with this company's figures in it.
Needs current assets and current liabilities.
Piotroski F-Score — fundamental momentum — Joseph Piotroski, University of Chicago, 2000, in a study of whether accounting signals could improve returns among cheap stocks.
Nine yes-or-no tests across profitability, leverage and operating efficiency. Each pass scores one. It asks a narrow question: is this business getting better or worse on its own terms, year over year?
How to read it7 or more suggests improving fundamentals; 3 or fewer suggests deterioration. It measures direction, not quality — a weak company improving can score higher than a strong one holding steady.
Where it failsA single year of comparison, so one unusual year distorts it. Says nothing about valuation, competitive position or management. Piotroski designed it to rank already-cheap stocks, not to judge a company in isolation.
Needs trade receivables, current assets, other expenses, operating cash flow.
DuPont decomposition — Devised inside the DuPont Corporation in the 1920s and still the standard way to read a return on equity.
Splits return on equity into its three sources, so the same headline number can be traced to very different businesses.
How to read itA 20% ROE built on margin and turnover is a different proposition from a 20% ROE built on 3× leverage. The first survives a downturn; the second amplifies it.
Where it failsA single year. Negative equity makes it meaningless. Leverage is structural for lenders, so the third term carries no signal there.
(net profit − operating cash flow) ÷ average total assets
(₹6 − ₹6) cr ÷ average assets
-1.8%
Negative means cash exceeded profit — the healthier reading. Positive above ~10% is where accruals start to dominate earnings.net margin × asset turnover × leverage
12.0% × 1.48 × 1.74
30.9%
Splits ROE into whether returns come from operations or from borrowing.EBIT ÷ finance cost
₹9 cr ÷ ₹1 cr
8.04×
How many times operating profit covers the interest bill.borrowings ÷ net worth
₹8 cr ÷ ₹18 cr
0.44×
Read against the sector — infrastructure carries more than software.Needs more balance-sheet detail (only 3 of 6 flags testable).
NOPAT over equity plus debt less cash, at a notional 25% tax. Incremental ROIC is the return on money put in since then — the number that decides whether growth creates value or consumes it.
Return on invested capital, and incremental ROIC — Standard in corporate finance; the incremental form was popularised by Michael Mauboussin as the test of whether growth creates value.
ROIC measures what the business earns on all the capital it employs — equity plus debt, less cash. Incremental ROIC asks a sharper question: what has it earned on the money put in since a chosen year?
How to read itROIC comfortably above the cost of capital — call it 11–13% in India — means growth compounds. Below it, growth consumes. Incremental below headline means recent investment is earning less than the legacy business.
Where it failsDistorted in the year of a large acquisition. Understated for companies mid-build, where capital is deployed but capacity has not yet been commissioned — an incubator will look poor until it does not.
Read downward. Cash can cover EBITDA and still not survive capex — the third rung is where a capital-hungry business shows itself.
The earnings quality ladder — Not a named model — the standard sequence an analyst walks when testing whether reported profit is real.
Three ratios read in order, each stricter than the last.
How to read itRead downward. Each rung failing where the one above passed tells you exactly where the cash is going.
Where it failsA single year of heavy capex depresses the third rung legitimately. Judge it across a cycle.
The growth rate that makes today's market value equal the discounted cash flows, at a 11.5% discount rate and 4.0% terminal growth. Not a forecast — the arithmetic of what is already in the price. Compare it with what the business has actually delivered.
Reverse DCF — the growth already in the price — A standard inversion of discounted cash flow, used to avoid the forecasting problem entirely.
Instead of forecasting cash flows and deriving a value, it takes today's market value as given and solves for the growth rate that would justify it. The output is not a view — it is the arithmetic of what the market is currently assuming.
How to read itCompare it with what the business has actually delivered. A price implying 30% a year against a decade of 15% is a demanding assumption; the reverse is a modest one.
Where it failsUseless when free cash flow is negative or unusually depressed, which is common mid-capex. Highly sensitive to the discount rate — a point either way moves the answer materially.
Against a policy rate near 6%, most sound Indian corporates borrow between 7% and 10%.
Cost of debt — Interest expense over average borrowings — the effective rate the company actually pays.
What the lenders charge, which is a market verdict on credit quality that no rating agency delay affects.
How to read itAgainst a policy rate near 6%, most sound Indian corporates borrow between 7% and 10%. Read the direction over years as much as the level.
Where it failsUnderstated where a large share of interest is capitalised into projects under construction. Not meaningful for lenders, where interest is cost of goods.
Some figures appear twice on this page with different values. That is not an error — they sit on different bases. The live feed reports a rolling twelve months; everything computed here comes from the last audited statements. Both are shown so you can see which is which.
Where the two disagree, every model, screen and ratio computed on this page uses the filed figure, because the rest of the page is on that basis.
Models that need these lines are withheld rather than estimated: net worth, current assets, current liabilities, trade receivables, inventory, net block. Nothing on this page is back-solved from a figure the company did not publish.
Each framework below is a set of stated, mechanical criteria from published work, run against this company's own filed numbers. Passing or failing a screen is not a verdict — different frameworks disagree by design, and that disagreement is itself informative.
Benjamin Graham's stated criteria for a defensive stock, applied to the filed numbers. A company failing several is not disqualified — Graham designed these to be deliberately strict.
Two ratios only: what the business earns on its capital, and what you pay for those earnings. Designed to be ranked across a universe rather than read in isolation.
The fundamental half of William O'Neil's framework. The market and leadership components are judgement calls and are not scored here.
The characteristics long-term holders commonly look for: cash-backed earnings, high returns on capital, and debt that never forces a decision.
Median of the companies we hold in the same sector (Not specified). Every figure on both sides is the live feed's trailing twelve months, so the two are measured the same way whatever depth of extraction this company has had. A number only means something next to something else — expensive against the market and cheap against peers are different facts.
Set your own assumptions and watch the numbers move. A scenario calculator — the outputs are the arithmetic of your inputs.
One canonical set of figures — the same numbers used everywhere else on this page and on the screener.
How the register has moved over recent quarters — the direction matters more than the level.
Promoter held steady from 69.50% to 69.50% across these quarters.
FII held steady from 0.02% to 0.01% across these quarters.
MF held steady from 0.61% to 0.61% across these quarters.
Other held steady from 30.41% to 30.50% across these quarters.
Where cash gets stuck. A rising inventory or debtor line against flat sales is the earliest sign of trouble in the numbers.
| Measure | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Debtor days
How long customers take to pay | 107 | 111 |
| Inventory days
How long stock sits before it sells | 0 | 0 |
| Payable days
How long the company takes to pay suppliers | 51 | 43 |
| Cash conversion cycle
Debtor + inventory − payable days | 56 | 69 |
| Working capital days | 55 | 62 |
| ROCE %
Return on capital employed | — | 38.8% |
The shape of the business over time (annual) — read the direction, not the single print.
| Line | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue from operations | 37 | 46 |
| Other income | 0 | 0 |
| Depreciation | 1 | 1 |
| Finance cost | 1 | 1 |
| Profit before tax | 6 | 7 |
| Net profit (owners) | 5 | 6 |
| EPS (₹) | 7.29 | 8.62 |
Exceptional items, total income and EBITDA are read from the filed statements.
| Item | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Equity Capital | 6 | 6 |
| Reserves | 6 | 12 |
| Borrowings | 5 | 8 |
| Net block | 4 | 6 |
| CWIP | 0 | 0 |
| Investments | 0 | 0 |
| Total Assets | 22 | 31 |
| Line | FY2026 |
|---|---|
| Cash from operations | 6 |
| Cash from investing | -4 |
| Cash from financing | 2 |
| Free cash flow | 3 |
| Net change in cash | 3 |
Cash from operations is the number profit has to answer to. Free cash flow is what remains after the business pays for its own growth.
The same read, applied to the companies this one competes with.